• Welcome to the 
    Castlewood Education 
    Our goals:
    Promote our school.
    Motivate students.
    Recognize staff.
    Inspire participation.
    Build community awareness.

    Click here to read our latest newsletter!

    Click here
    for our newsletter archive
    and donation form!

    Click here for scholarship forms!

    Jason Tvedt 2019-20 ROSE Award

    Tvedt receives
    '19-20 ROSE Award

    The Castlewood Education Foundation presented the ROSE Award for the 2019-20 school year to Jason Tvedt. Tvedt has served the youth of our community for many years, teaching students sportsmanship, morals and values.
    For more information, visit the ROSE Award page.

    Westgard Memorial
    Scholarship established

    The daughters of Edward and Racheal Westgard, Tamara Finnegan (Class of ’76) and Krisma DeWitt (Class of ’74), have established a scholarship for a graduating Castlewood High School student who pursues a degree in Elementary or Secondary Teacher Education. The $500 scholarship will be awarded to a Castlewood High School graduate beginning with the Class of 2020.

    Edward and Racheal were longtime residents of Castlewood. Edward worked at the Castlewood Elevator. Racheal began teaching sixth grade in 1964 and later served as the elementary principal for the school until 1986.

    Both Edward and Racheal were supporters of the community and especially the school. They loved learning and were actively involved in many organizations within the community. To encourage students to become educators and lovers of learning, their daughters thought it appropriate to honor their parents with this scholarship.

    The Foundation would like to thank Tamara and Krisma for funding this scholarship and supporting our students.

  • CEF first flight winners

    First Flight Winners –  Jon Gerhold, Brie Thiry, Garrett Karst and Michelle Barrett (not pictured) were the top team in the tournament.

    Education foundation hosts
    successful golf tournament

    Another successful golf tournament was held June 15, with 52 golfers participating. Tournament proceeds fund Innovative Education Grants to teachers, classroom field trips, funds for music and the arts, and scholarships to graduating seniors. Watch for the date of the 2020 tournament to be announced. Visit the Golf Tournament page for more information.

    Mark your calendars for the 13th annual golf tournament set for Saturday, June 20th!!

    2019 scholarships awarded

    2019 CEF scholarship winners  
    2019 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS announced at Awards Night were, in front, Julie Fischer, Baeli Schliesman, Lauren Gabur and Molly Engels; and in back, Noah Wiersma, Cooper Moss, Brandon Benike and Kyler Tvedt. Click here for more information on scholarships.

    Castlewood High School art class pottery field trip

    ART STUDENT GAGE DOBBS helps smother a red-hot piece from the kiln during a field trip to Dakota Potter's Supply in Sioux Falls. Looking on are Devin Matson, German Lopez, Layce Kooima (hidden), Chloe Carroll and Brandon Matson.

    Innovative Education grants enrich science, art classes

    2019-20 Innovative Education Grants were awarded to art teacher Aubrey Vanderbusch and elementary teacher Nancy Appl.

    Visit the IEG page for more details on this and past grant awards.