Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

ROSE Awards

Dawn Wiersma is 2022-23
ROSE Award recipient

The 2022 ROSE Award recipient is Dawn Wiersma.

Dawn has gone above and beyond her Castlewood School Business Manager Duties since the tornado in May 2022. Dawn has worked relentlessly with insurance companies, staff, families, and the community to make sure students and staff were able to start the 2022-23 school year as normal as possible, with the limitations of not having an elementary wing and kitchen to use. Dawn made sure everyone had what they needed to enable our students and staff to be successful this school year. She continues to support everyone and does so with a smile on her face.

The ROSE Award, which stands for Recognizing Outstanding Service to Education, recognizes individuals who promote academic excellence and strong character to our youth. All individuals are eligible for nomination for the ROSE Award, including school staff members, community members and business leaders.

Nominations Sought for 2023 ROSE award  

The Castlewood Education Foundation is seeking nominations for a deserving community member, business leader, or school staff member who promotes excellence in the growth of the youth in Castlewood. 

The nominations for the 2023 ROSE Award (Recognizing Outstanding Service to Education) must include a recommendation. Letters may be dropped off at the school or emailed to through Monday October 31.

DeBoers chosen for 2021-22 ROSE Award

Ayrica and Chuck DeBoer were announced as the 2021-22 ROSE Award winners by the Castlewood Education Foundation. Ayrica and Chuck support the youth by sponsoring “Good Job!”  and “Random Acts of Kindness” coupons to be used at Ida’s; spearheading and making lunches for those in need during Covid in 2020 when the school was shut down; hosting movie parties for all; and welcoming everyone, especially kids, into their business after school and home games. They have always put children first!

ROSE Award nominations sought

The ROSE Award recognizes individuals who promote academic excellence and strong character to our youth. All individuals are eligible for nomination for the award, which is given annually, including school staff, community members and business leaders.  If you would like to nominate someone, mail your nomination and reason why to: Castlewood Education Foundation, PO Box 214, Castlewood, SD 57223.

McEldowney chosen for

Deb McEldowney

2020-21 ROSE Award
The Castlewood Education Foundation presented Deb McEldowney with the ROSE Award for the 2020-21 school year. As the school librarian, Deb has a strong passion for reading and promotes a love for reading to all of her students. She promotes reading through various means, including technology, games, activities and crafts.

Deb always has a welcome and festive atmosphere in the library and hallway outside the library. She is constantly changing decor to go along with holidays or library standards.

Past ROSE Award recipients

2019-20 - Jason Tvedt

2018-19 - Karen Schooley

2017-18 - Nancy Appl

2016-17 - Randy Rudebusch

2015-16 - Darlene Tillma

2014-15 - Cat and Missy Rhody

2013-14 - Ruth Fodness

2012-13 - Dee Vetter

2011-12 - Vicki Bjerke

2010-11 - Sandy Hoitsma

2009-10 - Fred Tillma

2008-09 and prior –
Kim Boswell

Rev. Terry Drew

Kay Zimiga

Kathy Pommer

Janell Bemis

Robin Gabur

Brian Jacobsen